Booting the samsung 840 SSD firmware update iso from grub2

In order to apply a firmware update for my Samsung 840 SSD I had to boot an iso image with the firmware updater. My laptop does not have an optical drive so I decided to to use my grub2 and it’s loopback support.

So I added to

/etc/grub.d/40_custom

the following lines:

menuentry "firmware" {
  set isofile="/boot/ssd840.iso"
  loopback loop (hd0,1)$isofile
  legacy_kernel (loop)/isolinux/memdisk (loop)/isolinux/memdisk
  legacy_initrd (loop)/isolinux/btdsk.img
}

This works quite well. The firmware update process itself is a bit of a pain. At the end it asked to power cycle the SSD. Which is pretty much impossible because it is inside my laptop. After I continued without power-cycling the drive it warned me that applying failed. However that is a false scary message. After power off and power on of the laptop the firmware update was applied.

One Response to “Booting the samsung 840 SSD firmware update iso from grub2”

  1. charliethompson475 Says:

    i love beyonce kelly michelle and bob marley i like everybodyntanks for atentionnkisses good-bay Click https://zhoutest.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

